Pancake Day

 89bb73a24514d9196495952b8b60ec2d0d003c3582a8b12d618573432f345fed

Pancake Day comes and goes every year and every year I alway say to myself “why don’t I have pancakes for breakfast everyday!” This year I went out for pancakes in London. I wanted to find somewhere classically American which I knew would serve the best pancakes in town. So I settled for The Diner. The Diner is a great place dotted in a few locations around the city. I went to one in Covent Garden.

DSC01167

We had to queue for about half an hour but it was worth it! I probably ate the most random meal but it all fitted together quite nicely. Pancakes were of course on the agenda but after a hard day in the office something else was needed to fill the gap. So we settled for Mac and Cheese with fries as a main to start. Possibly the best Mac and Cheese EVER and the fries were the perfect amount of crunch.

DSC01186 DSC01185

Next came the pancakes. I had classic buttery pancakes with maple syrup and a side of bacon. I have always thought that was a slightly weird combination but it was surprisingly amazing! The pancakes were fluffy and the bacon was crispy. A perfect end to a strange but delightful meal. My friend had banana and Nutella which looked delicious!

The Diner challenged Londoners to wolf down a 5,000 calorie stack of pancakes in an eating challenge for Pancake Day. Hungry competitors had to eat their way through 15 pancakes covered in toppings which stood 10 inches high. It came topped with bacon, raspberries, peanut butter and whipped cream. If you eat it under 30 minutes then you get it for free – if you can’t eat it then you have to fork out twenty quid.

DSC01183

5,000+calorie+tower+of+pancakes+The+Diner

Of course I considered it but It couldn’t even finish my own stack of 3 pancakes so I don’t think I would have been a very good competitor.
DSC01189
Overall good pancakes, shame about the queue but that’s London on Pancake Day for you! Friendly service and not a bad price tag.

2 thoughts on “Pancake Day

  1. Pingback: Fuerzabruta | London Life

  2. Pingback: Buddy’s with my buddies | London Life

Leave a Reply

